Coverart for item
The Resource The Poet X

The Poet X

Label
The Poet X
Title
The Poet X
Creator
Subject
Summary
Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent."Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation"An incredibly potent debut." —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Acevedo, Elizabeth
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Poetry
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Label
The Poet X
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062662828
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Poet X
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062662828
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...