The Resource New Kid

New Kid

Label
New Kid
Title
New Kid
Creator
Subject
Summary
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Craft, Jerry
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Comic and Graphic Books
  • Juvenile Fiction
  • Juvenile Literature
  • Humor (Fiction)
Label
New Kid
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:72f90668-d994-4266-a650-f8985b16f801
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062691217
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
New Kid
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:72f90668-d994-4266-a650-f8985b16f801
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062691217
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...