Coverart for item
The Resource Broken People

Broken People

Label
Broken People
Title
Broken People
Creator
Subject
Summary
A Vogue Most Anticipated Book of 2020An O, The Oprah Magazine "LGBTQ Book That Will Change the Literary Landscape in 2020""Profound and affecting."—Chloe Benjamin"Broken People leads us through the winds of time and memory to offer a riveting portrait of transformation. I am better for having read it."—Jamie Lee CurtisA groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara and Garth Greenwell"He fixes everything that's wrong with you in three days."This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform "open-soul surgery" on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He's desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.But are the great spirits the shaman says he's summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam's memory more powerful than any magic?At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lansky, Sam
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Literature
  • LGBTQIA+ (Fiction)
  • Fiction
Label
Broken People
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:3587d944-0827-4556-8a4e-d569eff17e60
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781488055768
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Broken People
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:3587d944-0827-4556-8a4e-d569eff17e60
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781488055768
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...