The Resource Beast

Beast

Label
Beast
Title
Beast
Creator
Subject
Summary
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the YearA Rainbow Book List selectionA YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selectionA witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way? Praise for Beast: "Writing smartly in Dylan's voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred review "Spangler's captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance." —Publishers Weekly, Starred review
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Spangler, Brie
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Romance
  • Humor (Fiction)
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Label
Beast
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:0407531f-c1ac-4e8f-be4b-067ec380699e
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781101937174
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Beast
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:0407531f-c1ac-4e8f-be4b-067ec380699e
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781101937174
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...