Coverart for item
The Resource American Street

American Street

Label
American Street
Title
American Street
Creator
Subject
Summary
A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year *American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Zoboi, Ibi
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Label
American Street
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062473066
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
American Street
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:85d1abe5-c42f-42cb-8bd8-cf26c0063cc9
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062473066
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...