Coverart for item
The Resource Almost American Girl

Almost American Girl

Label
Almost American Girl
Title
Almost American Girl
Creator
Subject
Summary
Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother's announcement that she's getting married—Robin is devastated.Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother.Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ha, Robin
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • Sociology
  • Young Adult Nonfiction
Label
Almost American Girl
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:d491f964-e9b1-4871-a335-e729664a0d63
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062685117
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Almost American Girl
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:d491f964-e9b1-4871-a335-e729664a0d63
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062685117
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...