Coverart for item
The Resource A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble

Label
A Good Kind of Trouble
Title
A Good Kind of Trouble
Creator
Subject
Summary
From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real."Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ramée, Lisa Moore
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Juvenile Literature
  • Juvenile Fiction
Label
A Good Kind of Trouble
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:4e7379ac-a68e-4d1f-8c9f-bee2da7d8b88
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062836700
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
A Good Kind of Trouble
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:4e7379ac-a68e-4d1f-8c9f-bee2da7d8b88
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062836700
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Merrimack Valley Library ConsortiumBorrow it
      4 High Street, Suite 175, North Andover, MA, 01845, US
      42.7009413 -71.1255084
Processing Feedback ...